Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Volleyball Awarded Top Seed For 2017 NCAA Division III Championship

Men's Volleyball Awarded Top Seed For 2017 NCAA Division III Championship

Springfield, Mass. - April 17, 2017 - The Springfield College men's volleyball team was awarded the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division III Men's Volleyball Championship, which will take place April 28-30 in Blake Arena, on the campus of Springfield College. The Pride will square off against the winner of a first-round game between Hunter and Penn State Altoona on Friday, April 28.

The Pride, who has been ranked first in the country for the past 13 weeks of the AVCA Division III National Coaches Poll, earned one of four at-large berths into the field of 12 teams. Springfield enters the championship weekend with a 26-2 record, including a 24-1 record against Division III opponents. 

Springfield will square off in the national quarterfinals on Friday, April 28 against the winner of Hunter and Penn State Altoona. The first round game between those two teams will be played on April 22 at Hunter College.

On the same side of the bracket as Springfield, 4th-seeded Dominican will face either Stevens or Endicott.  In the top half of the bracket, 3rd-seeded Vassar will play the winner of New Paltz and Kean, while 2nd-seeded Wentworth will face the winner of NYU and Juniata. The championship continues with two semifinal matches on Saturday, April 29 and the championship match on Sunday, April 30.

The Pride faced Hunter earlier this season, winning by a 3-0 decision on March 4.  Springfield and Penn State Altoona have never played each other.

Springfield has played in the last seven Division III national championship matches and won three-straight NCAA Division III National Championships after sweeping Carthage in 2012, Nazareth in 2013, and Juniata in 2014. Springfield has been the No. 1 seed in the tournament on three other occasions (2012, 2013, and 2014), and as a program, the Pride has won a total of nine Division III National Championships, including five in the past nine seasons.

Those interested in purchasing tickets for the NCAA Division III Championships in advance may do so here.