Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Seventy Three Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

Seventy Three Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

Boston, Mass. – November , 2018 - Earlier this week, The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its 2018 Fall Academic All-Conference Teams, with 73 student-athletes from Springfield College participating in fall sports earning recognition for their efforts in the classroom.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2018 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The Springfield College football team had 24 student-athletes recognized for their hard work in the classroom, which was the most among football teams in the NEWMAC. Additionally, the field hockey team's 11 student-athletes tied MIT for the most among field hockey teams in the league. The women's volleyball team, the men's soccer team and the women's cross country team were third amongst their conference foes.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute. 

Women's Cross Country
Tori Nascambeni
Laura Volan
Nicole Dyer
Kristen Madeia
Deanna Carlone
Lauren Duggan 
Emory Fairchild
Allison Gunter
Abby Murdock
Rachel Wentnick

Men's Cross Country
Jack Pinho
Owen Ross
Chris Tringali

Women's Soccer 
Jackie Davis
Rachel Feliu
Kellie Gambell
Izzy Inglese
Mackenzie Luiz 
Hope McDonald
Renee Melisse
Sara Swetland
Sydney Wine 

Men's Soccer
Justin Breedlove
Freddy Clark
Brad Deckel
Xavier Gibson 
Keon Haji
Ian Macala
Alex Maring 
Garret Ossolinski
Camden Spear 
Ian Zacharewicz 

Field Hockey 
Hannah Boylan
Morgan Bronk
Taylor Conley
Belle Copponi
Emmalie Drake 
Ashley Frank
Taylor Low
Patricia Murphy 
Amanda Nusbaum 
Kristen Oliver 
Lauren Trifone

Women's Volleyball
Camryn Bancroft 
Kaitlynn Bonsignore
Kelsie Dwyer
Laura Townsend
Kathryn vonKampen
Bridget Walsh 

Nick Bainter
Skyler Batemen
Jonny Bianchi
Trevor Blackburn
Michael Blazejowski III
Tom Casey
John Cox
Nicholas Giorgio
Christian Humulock
Daryl Jent
Tanner Jillson
Matthew Johnson
James Kastrinakis 
Shamar Martin 
Kyle Niehr
Andrew Papirio
Jack Pavelchak
Nick Rajotte
Chaz Ruffin
Joseph Salatel
Chad Shade
Alexander Smith
Tony Valentino
Zach Wright