Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Luscier Wins 60 Meter Dash to Lead Women's Track and Field at Massasoit Classic

Luscier Wins 60 Meter Dash to Lead Women's Track and Field at Massasoit Classic

Springfield, Mass. - January 27, 2018 - Senior Courtney Luscier (Pittsfield, Mass.) won the 60 meter dash to lead the Springfield College women's track and field team at the Massasoit Classic, an eight-team non-scoring meet hosted in the Springfield College Field House on Saturday afternoon.

Luscier's mark of 7.90 seconds was the fastest in the prelims, before the senior dropped her time to 7.87 seconds in the finals, cruising to a first-place finish. Ashley Consolini (Southwick, Mass.) took sixth in the 400 meter dash with a time of 1:04.14, just outlasting teammate Katie Evans (Holyoke, Mass.), who notched a time of 1:04.26.

Next, in the 60 meter hurdles, Katherine Strain (Longmeadow, Mass.) took fifth overall, producing a time of 9.97 seconds, while the sophomore also finished third in the high jump, clearing 5 feet, 0.5 inches. Also in the high jump, Mia Facchini (Chicopee, Mass.) took fourth, also clearing 5 feet, 0.5 inches. Paige Shaughnessy (Nashua, N.H.) took third in the pole vault, clearing 9 feet, 6.25 inches, while in the shot put, Mikaela LoPriore (Niantic, Conn.) finished seventh with a heave of 35 feet, 9.25 inches, before the sophomore took fifth in the weight throw with a distance of 43 feet, 4.5 inches.  

At the John Thomas Terrier Classic, hosted by Boston University, Kristen Madeia (Berlin, Conn.) competed in the 800 on Friday night, and clocked in at a time 2:21.53, while Macayla LaChance (Peabody, Mass.) and Abigail Murdock (Westerly, R.I.) followed suit, LaChance recording a time of 2:26.92 and Murdock with a 2:29.22. In the mile, Laura Volan (Scarborough, Maine) was the Pride's top finisher with a time of 5:28.19, while in the high jump, Taylor Nogiec (Berlin, Conn.) cleared 5 feet, 3 inches to finish 12th overall. 

Springfield College will next compete in the All New England Championships, hosted at Boston University on Friday, February 2 and Saturday, February 3.