No. 5 Roger Williams Rallies Past Wrestling, 21-16, In Friday Night Lights Showdown

No. 5 Roger Williams Rallies Past Wrestling, 21-16, In Friday Night Lights Showdown

Springfield, Mass. - December 9, 2016 - Going up against the nation's fifth-ranked team in Roger Williams, the Springfield College wrestling team dropped a 21-16 decision in the Pride's annual "Friday Night Lights" event in Blake Arena.

After the Hawks opened up the evening a major decision at 125 and a decision at 133, Springfield's Patrick Ferzoco (Stoughton, Mass.) delivered a 5-2 victory at 141 to bring the Pride within 7-3.  

Another Roger Williams win by decision at 149 pushed the visitors lead to 10-3 before the night's most anticipated match between Zach Joseph (Clifton Park, N.Y.) and Ty Herzog, two of the nation's top-ranked wrestlers at 157 pounds according the latest National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Division III Individual Rankings.  Joseph, ranked fifth in the weight class, dominated the third period en route to a 21-11 major decision over fourth-ranked wrestler in the nation.

The Hawks responded with a major decision at 165, only to have Geovanni Medina (New Britain, Conn.) put together a gritty effort at 174 that resulted in a win by pinfall in 6:55 to bring the Pride within 14-13.  The Pride built off that momentum and took its first lead of the evening after Seve Burgos (Guilford, Conn.) toughed out a 5-3 win in double overtime in the 184 showdown.

However, Roger Williams regained the lead for good with a decision at 197 before a major decision in the finale sealed the 21-16 victory.

Springfield will next compete at the NWCA National Duals in Fort Wayne, Indiana on Jan. 5-6.

Roger Williams, Springfield College

125: Nicholas Barbaria (RWU) defeats Andrew Mastrangelo (SPR) by major decision, 12-4 (4-0)

133: Jason Jacobi (RWU) defeats Ian Tolotti (SPR), 4-2 (7-0)

141: Patrick Ferzoco (SPR) defeats Justin Cochran (RWU), 5-2 (7-3)

149: Tyler Gazaway (RWU) defeats  Jacob Strohman (SPR), 11-5 (10-3)

157: Zach Joseph (SPR) defeats Ty Herzog (RWU) defeats by major decision, 21-11 (10-7)

165:  Alec Golner (RWU) defeats Aarin Feliz (SPR) by major decision, 13-3 (14-7)

174: Geovanni Medina (SPR) pinned Taylor Shay (RWU) in 6:55 (14-13)

184: Seve Burgos (SPR) defeats Connor Humphries (RWU), 5-3 (2 OT) (14-16)

197: Christopher Francis (RWU) defeats Justin McLee (SPR), 7-4 (17-16)

285: Kyle Foster (RWU) defeats Joseph Fusco (SPR) by major decision, 14-3 (21-16)