53 Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Recognition

53 Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Recognition

Boston, Mass. – November 3, 2016 - Earlier this week, The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its 2016 Academic All-Conference Teams, with 53 student-athletes from Springfield College participating in fall sports earning recognition for their efforts in the classroom.

Springfield's 53 student-athletes that earned Academic All-Conference honors ranks second in the NEWMAC, following only MIT, which had 64 student-athletes honored. The Springfield College women's soccer program registered a school-best 13 student-athletes on the Academic All-Conference team. 

Out of the seven fall sports that the NEWMAC offers, Springfield College finished in the top three more amount of student-athletes recognized, as the field hockey program's nine student-athletes recognized was the most amongst field hockey teams. Additionally, women's volleyball (8), women's cross country (7) and women's tennis (6) all tied for the top spot.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2015 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Women's Tennis
Emily Etter
Stephanie Foster
Rachel Litchfield
Rachel London
Melissa Parrish
Kelsey Whelpley

Women's Cross Country
Katie Benoit
Mary Casey
Macayla LaChance
Kristen Madeia
Julia Maturo
Rachael Seymour
Sarah Skillin

Men's Cross Country
Tyler Cronin
Oliver Johnson
Benjamin Malin
Owen Ross

Field Hockey
Hannah Boylan
Taylor Field
Emily Knobel
Jill Macdonald
Ann Mahoney
Jamie Raccosta
Tori Stollmer
Dani Sweet
Mikayla Wysocki 

Women's Volleyball
Hannah Andres
Haley DeRoche
Kayleigh Helgesen
Rebecca Higgins
Lauren Holt
Marnae Mawdsley
Jamie Schneck
Laura Townsend 

Men's Soccer
Brad Deckel
Keon Haji
Zach Richard
Christian Steidle
Tim Wood
Ian Zacharewicz 

Women's Soccer
Olivia Bernas
Mikaela Coady
Aubrey Coutu
Jackie Davis
Brooke Fairman
Rachel Feliu
Isabella Inglese
Dakota Kelly
Kelly Lewis
Monique Marcelino
Bri Messier
Elizabeth Monsen
Shannon Wells